RosBREED: Combining Disease Resistance with Horticultural Quality in New Rosaceous Cultivars is a USDA-SCRI awarded project focused on developing and applying modern DNA tests and related breeding methods to deliver new cultivars – cultivated varieties – of rosaceous crops in 22 U.S. breeding programs, focusing on eight crops: apple, blackberry, peach, pear, rose, strawberry, sweet cherry, and tart cherry.  The project is managed by Project Director Amy Iezzoni of Michigan State University and co-directed by Cameron Peace of Washington State University.  Together they are leading a group of 35 scientists from 14 U.S. institutions along with numerous international cooperators.

RosBREED brings unprecedented attention to local and regional breeding programs and a commitment to more efficiently, accurately, and creatively develop commercial scion and rootstock cultivars. The team is building on the foundation established in the preceding RosBREED project, with many new scientists and targeting diseases that industry stakeholders across the country have identified as key challenges.

Through this project, producers will have more options to sustainably protect their crops from disease, while consumers and the entire supply chain will directly benefit from products with better taste, nutrition, keeping ability, and appearance.

 

RosBREED Directory

Your filter setting will not be applied until you press the Apply button.
First Name Last Name Email Institution Role
David Karp University of California, Riverside Associate
Lailing Cheng Cornell University Assoc. Professor
Peter Hirst Purdue University Assoc. Professor
Robin Buell Michigan State University Assoc. Professor
Carolyn Ross Washington State University Asst. Professor
Bradly Rickard Cornell University Asst. Professor
Chalmers Carr III Titan Peach Farms, Inc. CEO
Tom Stokes Tree Top Inc. CEP
Chris Pellett Newflora, LLC Co-Owner
Bruce Grim Washington Marketing Association Director
Dan Legard California Strawberry Commission Director, Research & Education
David Eddy American/Western Fruit Grower Editor
Fred Cook Discoll's Head of Research & Development
Bob Gix Blue Star Growers Horticulturalist
Jen Baugher Adams County Nursery Marketing Associate
Chris Britton Britton Konynenburg Partners Partner
Phil Korson Cherry Marketing Inst., Inc. President
John Lott Bear Mountain Orchards, Inc. President
Jim Allen New York Apple Association President
Bill Dodd Ohio Fruit Growers Association President
Susan Gardiner The New Zealand Institute for Plant & Food Research Principal Scientist
Joe Arvai University of Calgary Professor
Chris Watkins Cornell University Professor
Ron Perry Michigan State University Professor
Dan Kluepfel University of California, Davis Professor
Clark Seavert Oregon State University Professor & Center Director
Frederick Bliss University of California, Davis Professor Emeritus
Pere Arus IRTA Researcher
Phil Simon USDA-ARS Research Geneticist
Robert Curtis Almond Board of California Senior Manager, Production Research
Vance Whitaker vwhitaker@ufl.edu University of Florida Strawberry
Kim Hummer National Clonal Germplasm Repository Supervisory Research Horticulturist
Chang-Lin Xiao USDA-ARS Supervisory Research Plant Pathologist
Nnadozie Oraguzie noraguzie@wsu.edu Washington State University Sweet Cherry
Kate Evans kate_evans@wsu.edu Washington State University Apple
James Luby lubyx001@tc.umn.edu University of Minnesota Apple
Susan Brown skb3@cornell.edu Cornell Apple
Tom Gradziel gradziel@plantsciences.ucdavis.edu UC Davis Peach
Ksenija Gasic KGASIC@clemson.edu Clemson University Peach
John Clark jrclark@uark.edu University of Arkansas Peach & Blackberry
David Byrne d-byrne@tamu.edu Texas A &M Peach & Rose
Richard Bell Richard.Bell@ARS.USDA.GOV USDA-Kearneysville Pear
Stan Hokanson hokan017@umn.edu University of Minnesota Rose
James Hancock hancock@msu.edu Michigan State University Strawberry
Thomas Davis tom.davis@unh.edu University of New Hampshire Strawberry
Chad Finn Chad.Finn@ars.usda.gov USDA-ARS Strawberry & Blackberry
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Tart Cherry Scion & Rootstock
Chengyan Yue yuechy@umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Leader
Dorrie Main dorrie@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Leader
Mercy Olmstead mercy1@ufl.edu University of Florida Team Leader
Nahla Bassil Nahla.Bassil@ars.usda.gov USDA Team Leader
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Leader
Stephen Kresovich skresov@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Ksenija Gasic KGASIC@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Christopher Saski SASKI@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Kate Evans kate_evans@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Karina Gallardo karina_gallardo@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
James Luby lubyx001@tc.umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
Vicki McCracken mccracke@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Nahla Bassil Nahla.Bassil@ars.usda.gov USDA Team Member
Ksenija Gasic KGASIC@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Craig Hardner craig.hardner@uq.edu.au University of Queensland Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Stephen Kresovich skresov@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Amy Lawton-Rauh amylr@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Lisa DeVetter lisa.devetter@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Des Layne desmond.layne@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Dorrie Main dorrie@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Gregory Reighard grghrd@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Michael Coe michael@cedarlakeresearch.com Cedar lake Team Member
Nahla Bassil Nahla.Bassil@ars.usda.gov USDA Team Member
Rex Bernardo bernardo@umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
Chad Finn Chad.Finn@ars.usda.gov USDA-ARS Team Member
Ksenija Gasic KGASIC@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Amy Lawton-Rauh amylr@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
James Luby lubyx001@tc.umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Vance Whitaker vwhitaker@ufl.edu University of Florida Team Leader
James Luby lubyx001@tc.umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Leader
Chad Finn Chad.Finn@ars.usda.gov USDA-ARS Team Leader
Jay Norelli jay.norelli@ars.usda.gov USDA-Kearneysville Team Leader
Ksenija Gasic KGASIC@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Leader
Rex Bernardo bernardo@umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
Guido Schnabel schnabe@clemson.edu Pathology team member Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
James Luby lubyx001@tc.umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
Kelly Ivors kivors@calpoly.edu California Poly State University Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Ksenija Gasic KGASIC@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Chad Finn Chad.Finn@ars.usda.gov USDA-ARS Team Member
Nahla Bassil Nahla.Bassil@ars.usda.gov USDA Team Member
Chengyan Yue yuechy@umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
Vance Whitaker vwhitaker@ufl.edu University of Florida Team Member
Mercy Olmstead mercy1@ufl.edu University of Florida Team Member
Vicki McCracken mccracke@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Kelly Ivors kivors@calpoly.edu California Poly State University Team Member
Stan Hokanson hokan017@umn.edu University of Minnesota Team Member
James Hancock hancock@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Karina Gallardo karina_gallardo@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Lisa DeVetter lisa.devetter@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Thomas Davis tom.davis@unh.edu University of New Hampshire Team Member
John Clark jrclark@uark.edu University of Arkansas Team Member
David Byrne d-byrne@tamu.edu Texas A &M Team Member
Nahla Bassil Nahla.Bassil@ars.usda.gov USDA Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Mercy Olmstead mercy1@ufl.edu University of Florida Team Member
Jay Norelli jay.norelli@ars.usda.gov USDA-Kearneysville Team Member
Des Layne desmond.layne@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Kate Evans kate_evans@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Cameron Peace cpeace@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Susan Brown skb3@cornell.edu Cornell Team Member
Richard Bell Richard.Bell@ARS.USDA.GOV USDA-Kearneysville Team Member
Guido Schnabel schnabe@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Christopher Saski SASKI@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Gregory Reighard grghrd@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Nnadozie Oraguzie noraguzie@wsu.edu Washington State University Team Member
Carlos Crisosto chcrisosto@ucdavis.edu UC Davis Team Member
Mercy Olmstead mercy1@ufl.edu University of Florida Team Member
Amy Lawton-Rauh amylr@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Stephen Kresovich skresov@clemson.edu Clemson University Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
Tom Gradziel gradziel@plantsciences.ucdavis.edu UC Davis Team Member
Amy Iezzoni iezzoni@msu.edu Michigan State University Team Member
John Clark jrclark@uark.edu University of Arkansas Team Member
David Byrne d-byrne@tamu.edu Texas A &M Team Member
Craig Hardner craig.hardner@uq.edu.au University of Queensland Team Member
Marco Bink marco.bink@wur.nl PRI Team Member